A little History about the property and your hosts.

 

Story is, in keeping with its name, a storybook-like community, nearly hidden in the Ponderosa pines, hawthorns, and greenery in the summer...and generally covered in a blanket of snow in winter. 

When spring finally arrives around the middle of June (sometimes later), the wildflowers, chokecherries and wild plums of the valley provide a picturesque scene.

It is a quality lifestyle few lucky people get to enjoy. 

The Old Story Store

Story, Wyoming

Your Hosts

Our original red and white striped metal building didn't fit the environment in Story...so...with the help of some locals we turned into "The Old Story Store." 

The stone work on the front of the store and the inside of the Waldorf A'Story Deli, along with the bars on the windows became the legendary old Story jail. 

The weather twisted poles were placed under the new porch and the Piney Creek General Store and the Waldorf A'Story Deli were born!  It was designed down to the rough-hewn logs that make up the counter and the twisting timber that appears to hold up the corrugated metal roof over the deli.

The area around Story was known originally as Piney Island, so named by the commanding officer at nearby Fort Phil Kearny, Colonel Henry B. Carrington. He thought of it as an island because it is surrounded by the north and south forks of Piney Creek. The abundant Ponderosa pines in the area furnished the logs for the fort in 1866.


Story itself was founded at the site of two homesteads, Buckingham (1884) and Dalton (1890). It was platted in 1893 by Marshall Wolf and named after state representative Charles P. Story, who helped the town locate a post office there.

 

The modern  unincorporated community of Story is just 20 minutes south of Sheridan,  and 20 minutes north of Buffalo. Nestled in the pines between North and South Piney Creeks. Story has long been a favorite summer retreat of locals and visitors alike. Abundant wildlife and peaceful scenery are a part of everyday life in Story.

Dick and Patty Hoover are the retired owners of the converted Piney Creek General Store and the Waldorf A' Story Restaurant.  We relocated to Story from Dallas, Texas to enjoy the slower pace of life here. We live next door to the Guest Haus.

 

 

© 2015 waldorfastory.com